News Article
School Board Recognition Week
School Board Recognition Week
February 22-26, 2021

The Minnesota School Boards Association has set February 22-26 as Minnesota School Board Recognition Week to build awareness and understanding of the vital function elected board members play in our society. Hawley Public Schools is joining other public school districts from across the state to celebrate School Board Recognition Week to honor local board members for their commitment to Hawley and its children.

“Strong schools help build strong communities – and the Hawley School Board devotes countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child learn at a higher level,” Superintendent Phil Jensen said. “School board members make the difficult decisions every month – and spend many hours studying education issues and regulations in order to provide the kind of accountability our citizens expect.”

Superintendent Jensen said the key work of boards is to raise student achievement by:
  • Creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority;
  • Establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn and be able to do;
  • Ensuring progress is measured to be sure the district’s goals are achieved and students are learning at expected levels;
  • Being accountable for their decisions and actions by continually tracking and reporting results;
  • Creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach;
  • Forming partnerships with others in the community to solve common problems; and
  • Focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questioning, refining and revising issues related to student achievement.

“Even though we’re making a special effort to show our appreciation this month, school board members’ work is a year-round commitment.”

The members serving our district and their years of service are as follows: Kara Brager – newly elected; Todd Heiberg – 12; Jeff Lee – 2; Cody Marshall – 2; Steve Olson – 10; Mark Sellin – 15; TJ Tibbetts – newly elected.

About Us
"Our Focus is on Students"
Contact Us
High School Office 218-483-3555
Elementary Office 218-483-3316
Preschool 218-486-4300
BASE/FITS 218-483-3316 ext 3219
Swimming Pool 218-483-3577
District Office 218-483-4647
Follow Us On